

MEDIA RELEASE FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 28, 2020 Contact: Carl B. Mitchell External Communications and Marketing Liaison Saint Louis Public Schools <u>carl.mitchell@slps.org</u> (314) 437-5301, cell

SLPS NAMES DISTRICT WIDE 2020 EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR

Recipient Dr. Jana Flynn met with surprise ceremony in front of peers and District administration



ST. LOUIS, MO – Saint Louis Public Schools (SLPS) has named gifted education teacher Dr. Jana Flynn the 2020 Educator of the Year. Dr. Flynn was met with a surprise announcement of her award after school Wednesday. SLPS administrators and colleagues greeted her with a plaque, bouquet and a host of signs.

This award comes after SLPS announced Dr. Flynn as a 2020 SLPS Educator of the Year last spring along with more than a dozen other winners across different categories. Nominees were required to explain their teaching

philosophy and approach to teaching, while virtually providing examples of classroom lesson plans. A panel of current and retired SLPS administrators, principals and teachers reviewed the applications.

Dr. Flynn was chosen to represent the District in the state's contest because of her passion, dedication and desire to think outside of the box. According to Mason Elementary Principal Dr. Stacey Franklin, "Dr. Flynn is an exceptional teacher. She is constantly researching new ways to challenge and invigorate our students' learning. She has developed relationships with organizations to provide funding for new programs that are not only stimulating for our gifted students but for every student at Mason. She has taught our students to value teamwork as well as individuality. Dr. Flynn is such an asset to our school community and this honor is well deserved."

"Teachers don't get enough credit," said SLPS Superintendent Dr. Kelvin Adams. "It is vitally important that we honor and celebrate our dedicated and inspirational educators. Dr. Flynn and other Educator of the Year awardees deserve acknowledgment and praise for their commitment to improving the lives of children and families of St. Louis, especially at this time in our country. They are true heroes!"



Each winner received a trophy, plaque, work bag, embroidered sweater and a \$1,000 award provided by donors to the St. Louis Public Schools Foundation. Honorees in selected categories also received a \$500 gift card award through the Parsons Blewett Memorial Fund.

Christina Thompson	Early Childhood	Adams Elementary
Lori Gardner	Kindergarten	Mann Elementary
Dr. Jana Flynn	Elementary STEM	Mason Elementary and Humboldt Elementary
Ninfa Matiase	Secondary STEM	Collegiate School of Medicine and Bioscience
Chavon Hopgood	Elementary Reading	Gateway Elementary
Tiffany Clay	Secondary ELA	Clyde C. Miller Career Academy
Renee Amoroso	Secondary Math	Lyon Academy at Blow
Tawana Hall	College & Career Readiness	Central VPA
Jonathan McComb	Health and Wellness	Mullanphy
Dr. Dianna Sumner	Humanities	Carnahan
Amanda Wallace	Parents as Teachers	Board of Education
Lisa Rigg	Specialty	Mann Elementary
Carrie Burgett	Special Education	Mullanphy
Lakeisha Walker	Visual and Performing Arts	Columbia Elementary and Bryan Hill Elementary
Dr. Sarah Briscoe	Elementary Principal	Bryan Hill Elementary
Dr. Jana Haywood	Secondary Principal	Clyde C. Miller Career Academy
Dr. Tyler Archer	Supporting School Leader	Stix Early Childhood Center

The complete list of 2020 Educator of the Year awardees is below:

About Saint Louis Public Schools (SLPS)

Saint Louis Public Schools has been preparing students for a bright future since 1838. The District serves approximately 22,000 children in pre-kindergarten through grade 12. With more than 70 schools and academic programs, including Magnet and Choice schools, SLPS has a school to fit every child's needs. For more information about SLPS, visit the District's website at <u>http://www.slps.org</u> and follow the District on Twitter, Instagram or Facebook.

###