Return to Headlines

3 District Schools Named National Schools Of Character

Woerner Elementary, Busch Middle School of Character and Nottingham CAJT High School Named National Schools of Character


Washington, D.C. (May 10, 2016)—, a non-profit organization that supports the advancement of character development in schools, communities and workplaces across the U.S. and globally, today designated 67 schools and four districts from 15 states as National Schools and Districts of Character for 2016. 

The Saint Louis Public School District placed three schools on the list.  Recognized as a 2016 National School of Character are Woerner Elementary School, Busch Middle School of Character and Nottingham CAJT High School.  The SLPS schools are among the 16 schools in all of Missouri to make the list.

Since the inception of’s Schools of Character program’s in 1998 more than 263 schools and 14 districts have been designated as National Schools or Districts of Character, impacting more than 600,000 students’ lives. (A complete list of the 2016 National Schools and Districts of Character is outlined at bottom of this release). In addition, this year, two international schools have applied and will be evaluated for international recognition as a part of a pilot international program once the National Schools of Character have been announced,

Each year, (formerly The Character Education Partnership) and its state affiliates select schools and districts that demonstrate a dedicated focus on character development programs that show positive impact on academic achievement, student behavior and school climate. Schools and districts selected in January as State Schools of Character along with those schools who reapplied in their 3-year designation of State School of Character were forwarded to for consideration for national recognition as National Schools of Character.

 Through an in-depth and rigorous evaluation process, these schools were found to be exemplary models of character development. Of the schools named today, one district and 14 schools are former National  Schools of Character reapplying for the national designation. Criteria for selection are based on’s 11 Principles of Effective Character Education, a guide to providing students with opportunities for moral action, fostering shared leadership and engaging families and communities as partners in the character-building effort.

"We are extremely proud of this year’s designated schools and districts for their dedication to character development which has proven to increase the well-being of so many students’ lives across the United States and beyond ," said Becky Sipos,’s President & CEO. "These character initiatives create conditions for learning where students are thriving and growing into ethical members of our society. They are developing lifelong skillsets they will leverage well into their adult lives.” will honor the designated schools and districts at its 23rd National Forum on Character Education to be held the weekend of October 14-15, 2016, in Washington, DC. Visit to learn more about the National Forum, the Schools of Character program (State & National), and the 2016 national honorees.