• Who is Eligible for Magnet and Choice Schools?

    The following students are eligible to apply for a spot in an SLPS Magnet or Choice School:

    • Any student living in the city of St. Louis.

    • Beginning with the 2019-2020 application school year, Non-African American students who live in the county school districts of Affton, Bayless, Brentwood, Clayton, Hancock Place, Kirkwood, Ladue, Lindbergh, Mehlville, Parkway, Pattonville, Ritenour, Rockwood, Valley Park or Webster Groves are eligible to apply for St. Louis Magnet Schools provided they have a sibling currently enrolled in a St. Louis Magnet School.

    County residents are not eligible for pre-kindergarten, and they are not eligible to apply for Choice Schools: Northwest Law Academy, Carnahan High School of the Future and Clyde C. Miller Career Academy.

    What every parent should know about Magnet Schools: Please complete only one application per child. If a second application is submitted, the lottery system used to place students into open seats at schools requested will consider only the most recent application submitted for potential placement in the Pool A and Pool B lotteries.

    After the Pool A Lottery is complete, new applications with different or additional choices for consideration in the Pool B Lottery will override any previous application submitted for a student that is on a wait list from the Pool A lottery.

    Any application submitted for a different school than the site a student was accepted into will not be processed unless the seat offered has been declined.

    Please do not submit a request for placement to a school you are not willing to have your child attend. Any child accepted to a school will not be considered for placement to other choices or remain on the wait list for other choices requested.

    This includes students accepted to a second choice request. Any student accepted to a requested second choice will no longer be considered for placement, nor remain on the wait list for the first choice requested.

    The application process: Students wishing to attend a Magnet or Choice School must submit an application, which can be done online at www.slpsmagnetschools.org.

    Printable copies of applications are available for city residents at the SLPS website, www.slps.org, or by calling the Student Recruitment and Placement Office at 314.633.5200.

    St. Louis County residents can visit the Voluntary Interdistrict Choice Corp. (VICC) website, www.choicecorp.org.

    At this website click on “Information about applying,” or call 314.721.8422, ext. 3012.

    Applications not submitted online, can be mailed to or dropped off at:

    Saint Louis Public Schools Student Recruitment and Placement Office
    801 N. 11th St.
    St. Louis, MO 63101

    Voluntary Interdistrict Choice Corp. (VICC)
    7425 Forsyth Blvd., Suite 110
    St. Louis, MO 63105