Board of Education of the City of St. Louis

  • Matt Davis


    President - Matt Davis 

    Matt Davis is a parent of two Saint Louis Public School students.  He has been a city resident for over 20 years, active in his neighborhoods and his children's public schools.

    He’s been a neighborhood association president, a leader of several parent-teacher organizations and a volunteer soccer coach with the YMCA and SLPS.

    He is a graduate of Truman State University and Saint Louis University School of Law.

    At his law firm, Gallagher Davis, LLP, his practice centers on disability, mental health, pension rights and healthcare advocacy for individuals and families. 

    Comments (-1)
  • Toni Cousines

    Vice President- Antionette "Toni" Cousins

    - Community Outreach Manager, Missouri Housing Development Commission (MHDC).

    - Over 25 years of experience and dedication to revitalizing the city of St. Louis North Corridor. 

    - Served as the Executive Director of a nonprofit for more than 17 years, overseeing multiple developments and rehab projects, a youth center, along with implementing various programs with budgets totaling over $50 million dollars. 

    - Served as Executive Director for two alternative schools working with St. Louis City and County challenged youth and families by providing 2nd chance programs for all.

    - Accountability, passion, faith, hope, dedication, and leadership are her commitment to helping to be a game-changer for the youth and community of the entire St. Louis Region.

    - Mrs. Cousins holds a Master of Business in Non-Profit Management from Fontbonne University, a Master of Science in Human Resource Management & Development from National Louis University, and a Bachelor of Science in Social Work from Central Missouri State University. She is a proud member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. and a native St. Louisan.

    Comments (-1)
  • Donna Jones


    Secretary - Donna Jones

    Elected to the SLPS School Board in 2006, Donna is the parent of seven children, all of whom attended Saint Louis Public Schools. She has been active in the Saint Louis Public Schools since the 1980s. Donna is a community activist in many capacities and is someone who truly cares about the students of SLPS. Some of the issues Donna has worked on as a Board Member include lead removal, transportation, classroom size and school violence. Donna is a lifelong resident of the 27th Ward and also attended SLPS as a student.

    Comments (-1)
  • Natalie Vowell
    Natalie Vowell

    Natalie Vowell studied computer science and music theory at the University of Arkansas and served as the university's youngest and first female computer lab manager. She remains an advocate for young women entering STEM careers.

    Natalie moved to St. Louis in 2010 and continued her dedication to technology education as Development Director and Board Member for North City nonprofit WITS Inc., rebuilding unwanted electronics into computers for students and schools and leading workshops teaching families to assemble their own computers from recycled parts. Natalie has provided more than 1,000 free computers for families in need.

    In 2013, Natalie founded Project Raise The Roof, an organization that helps northside citizens stop the seizure of owner-occupied homes at City Sheriff’s auctions and keeps houses on the tax rolls—generating school funding and preventing vacant properties. She’s helped more than 70 northside citizens retain their family homes.

    Natalie has earned her Advanced and Master Certifications from the Missouri School Boards’ Association. She served as a 2016 Democratic National Convention delegate, has registered more than 200 high school seniors to vote, and is passionate about guiding our youth toward becoming innovators and community activists.

    Comments (-1)

    Alisha Sonnier


    Alisha Sonnier

    Alisha Sonnier is a leader, activist, organizer, visionary, and scholar who is passionate and dedicated to all things community empowerment and education. She was born and raised in St. Louis, MO, where her commitment to the community comes naturally and dates back to her early adolescence. 

    A major catalyst for Alisha’s community involvement was the murder of Michael Brown in 2014, during the first year of her undergraduate studies at the University of Missouri -St. Louis.   At the age of eighteen, she co-founded the organization “Tribe   X,” with a mission to “educate, organize, and empower.” She quickly rose to regional prominence through community organization and activism.

    Alisha has continued to develop her strengths to include political action and strategy while exploring the intersection of politics, power, and oppression. She became heavily involved in numerous campaigns in St. Louis, including “Fight for 15,” helping to support and elevate other local and national leaders. Much of Alisha’s work is documented in major publications such as the St. Louis American and the New York Times. She continues to organize locally and nationally around several issues, including criminal justice, healthcare, and other issues that tie in with her overall mission of justice for all.

    In addition to serving as the youngest member of the Board of Education of the City of St. Louis,  she works as a mental health advocate for a global health organization and is the co-founder of BlackTea.  BlackTea is a media organization available on all major streaming platforms with the mission of raising the political, social, and cultural consciousness while engaging and entertaining listeners/viewers.

    Alisha graduated from the University of Missouri -St. Louis with a Bachelor of Science degree in Psychology. She heads back to school in the fall to pursue a nursing degree with the goal of becoming a nurse practitioner. Alisha is committed to a holistic educational approach that centers on connecting scholars and the community and establishes SLPS as a powerhouse in urban education.


    Comments (-1)