• ST. LOUIS, MO. May 9, 2012 – Soldan International Studies High School chemistry teacher Andrew Goodin was selected as the winner of the 2012 Saint Louis Science Center/Carol B. and Jerome T. Loeb Prize for Excellence in Teaching Science & Mathematics.  Goodin was announced as the winner during a special ceremony held at the Saint Louis Science Center on May 8, 2012.


    Goodin was among five finalists for the prestigious honor.  Joining him as a finalist were two other St. Louis Public School District teachers - Gateway IT High School science teacher Merita Haxhia and Central Visual & Performing Arts High School science teacher David Allchurch.  City Academy teacher Erik Taylor and Rosati Kain teacher Lauren Lester were the other finalists.


    “Mr. Goodin has an innate gift for igniting students’ minds, challenging them and motivating them to think and learn,” said Gwendolyn Randolph, Science Supervisor for St. Louis Public Schools, who nominated Goodin. “He is working hard to revolutionize how chemistry is taught at Soldan International Studies High School.”


    Goodin sets high expectations for his students in order to improve their investment.


    “All aspects of my class are rooted in my high expectations for all students and the mindset that all students can learn science,” said Goodin. “It’s this fundamental philosophy that guides my teacher actions, and our class motto ‘Chem Is Try’ that is introduced with the concept of malleable intelligence and connects effort to achievement.”


    Goodin and the other finalists received cash awards, and as the winner, Goodin received a complimentary trip to one of the Science Center’s 2012 Science Adventure Travel destinations. The nominees’ students accompanied their teachers to the Science Center for the awards ceremony, a private screening of a film in the OMNIMAX® Theater and a chance to explore the museum.


    The Loeb Prize, which rewards teachers who significantly enhance their students' performances in the areas of science and mathematics, was established in 1995 and endowed in 2002 by a generous gift from Carol B. and Jerome T. Loeb. It is one of the many ways in which the Loeb family and the Science Center demonstrate their commitment to advance public appreciation for teachers' efforts.


    “The teachers this year were exceptionally talented and it was very difficult to choose just five finalists,” said Mrs. Loeb. ”I am grateful to have the opportunity to recognize these teachers for the work they do to transform students into the leaders of tomorrow.”


    For more information please contact the Office of Public Information (314) 345-2227.