• February 2012- Recently, Kennard Classical Junior Academy hosted their second induction of students into the National Elementary Honor Society (NEHS).  NEHS recognized Kennard’s most outstanding students.  Please congratulate:

    Brian Beffa

    Allyson Brink

    Mason Carr

    Sidq Cherry

    Kaixing Chou

    Abby Cooper

    Cierra Cross

    Brendon Davidson

    Sophia DeCampi

    Rianna DeHart

    Joey Elsberned

    Ava Farrar

    Ben Jamerson

    Presley Konkel

    Harshini Kumaresan

    Trevor Laslo

    Francine Lawler

    Sylvia Martinez

    Jordyn McLean

    Jessica Meyer

    Alexander Meyer

    Stephen Miller

    Juhi Modh

    Dominic Nguyen

    Noah Rowan

    Naomi Schaefer

    Emily Sheahan

    Rylea Smith

    Claire Stolze

    Camryn West

    Kyle Xu

    Miranda Zuckerman

                    Kennard CJA joins elementary schools around the nation in establishing a program to promote excellence in academic achievement and involvement in leadership and service for the nation’s youngest students.  More than just an honor roll, NEHS engages its members in service activities and leadership development that help strengthen the programs for all students at the school and improve life in the community.

                    NEHS has been developed as a program of the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) in cooperation with the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP).  “We are proud to recognize Kennard CJA as a new member of our Honor Society network” said Gary Tirozzi, Executive Director of NAASP. “The decision to bring NEHS to their campus is an indication of a commitment to acknowledging the hard work of high achieving and well-rounded students.  It also signals support for the core values of the Honor Society – values that we believe enhance the life of every member and the entire school community.”  NAASP also sponsors the National Honor Society and the National Junior Honor Society, and with the creation of the new NEHS, establishes student recognition programs for students in all levels of American education, elementary, middle, and high school.

                    At the local level, chapters of the National Elementary Honor Society are supervised by a faculty advisor.  The advisor for the chapter at Kennard CJA is Jamie Spitznagel.  She and a committee of teachers will be charged with supervising the selection of new members and inducting them at a special ceremony on February 2, 2012f.  In addition, once members are selected, the chapter will organize service projects and other activities that support the purposes of the organization.

                    The National Elementary Honor Society joins the National Honor Society(NHS) and the National Junior Honor Society (NJHS) as the nation’s premier organizations recognizing outstanding students who demonstrate excellence in the areas of scholarship, responsibility, leadership, service, citizenship, and character.  NHS and NJSH were founded by and are programs of the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP).  NASP – the preeminent organization and national voice for middle level and high school leaders – also sponsors the National Association of Student Councils (NASC) promoting and providing leadership development opportunities to prepare and empower students to serve their schools and communities.   For more information about the National Elementary Honor Society, visit www.nehs.org