• ST. LOUIS, MO, August 23, 2013 -- The Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education (DESE) today released the Annual Performance Reports (APR) for districts and individual schools through the Missouri School Improvement Program (MSIP) cycle five.  Based on the data released by DESE, seven Saint Louis Public School District schools earned enough points to qualify for Accreditation with Distinction, the highest recognition available.


    SLPS schools earning the honor are Bryan Hill Elementary School, Buder Elementary School, Kennard Classical Junior Academy, Mallinckrodt Academy of Gifted Instruction, Metro High School, McKinley High School, and Wilkinson Early Childhood Center.  Schools had to earn at least 90% of the points possible to qualify for Accreditation with Distinction.   Kennard and Metro each earned a perfect score of 100%.


    An additional 13 SLPS schools earned enough APR points to qualify for Full Accreditation.  Those schools are: Busch Middle School of Character, Carnahan High School of the Future, Cleveland NJROTC High School, Clyde C. Miller High School, Cote Brilliante Elementary School, Gateway Michael Elementary School, Gateway Math & Science Elementary School, Gateway STEM High School, Lexington Elementary School, Madison College Prep High School, Mason School of Academic & Cultural Literacy Elementary School, Shenandoah Elementary School and Stix Early Childhood Center.  Schools were required to earn at least 70% of all possible points to qualify for Full Accreditation.


    All public school districts and individual schools received an APR score based on Missouri Assessment Program (MAP) tests results, End Of Course (EOC) exams scores, attendance data, graduation rates and college and career readiness preparation. 


    The 2012-2013 school year is the first year DESE has calculated APR scores for districts and schools based on the MSIP cycle five standards.   MSIP cycle five uses a 140 point scale to calculate a district’s APR, requiring a district to earn at least 70 points (50%) to qualify for Provisional Accreditation, at least 98 points (70%) to qualify for Full Accreditation and at least 126 points (90%) to qualify for Accreditation with Distinction.  Under the MSIP cycle four scoring system, districts were evaluated based on a 14 point scale.


    Individual school APR’s are calculated using the same percentages for Provisional Accreditation, Full Accreditation and Accreditation with Distinction.  However, elementary and middle schools are evaluated on a 70 point scale based on MAP results and attendance, while high schools are evaluated on a 140 point scale based on EOC results, attendance, graduation rates and college and career readiness. For detailed information about the District or an individual school's APR results, please visit mcds.dese.mo.gov.