• The St. Louis Science Center Planetarium hosted a galaxy of stars recently, and they weren’t of the celestial kind.  The stars on display were student award winners in the St. Louis Public School’s 12th Annual Science Fair.


    More than 200 students representing 47 district schools competed in one of four age levels: pre-school – 2nd grade, 3rd grade -5th grade, 6th grade – 8th grade, and 9th grade through 12th grade.  Projects were entered by individuals, groups or as classroom projects.  Each age group division featured eight different categories.  Projects were judged by blue ribbon panels.


    Projects earning a score of 85 – 100 were awarded blue ribbons.  Those earning 70 – 84 points were given a red ribbon.  Green ribbons were presented for projects scoring 60 – 69 points.  All other entries were awarded a certificate of participation.  Blue ribbon award winners were also eligible for the prestigious Division Winner award. 


    Earning individual Division Winner awards in 2010 are:

    ·         Jackson Mabrey (Kennard) – Engineering, 3rd – 5th 

    ·         Pranjali Rajalakshmi (Mullanphy) – Biochemistry, 3rd – 5th

    ·         Dallis Johnson (Washington Montessori) – Chemistry, 3rd – 5th

    ·         Sophia Piasecki (Dewey) – Medicine/Health, 3rd – 5th

    ·         Jordan Banks (McKinley) – Chemistry, 6th – 8th

    ·         Ledale Jones (Beaumont) – Environmental Science, 9th – 12th


    Earning group Division Winner awards in 2010 are:

    ·         Amber Portwood, Crystal Douglass and Nigel Hightower (Cote Brilliante) – Botany, 3rd – 5th

    ·         Alexandra Kinder, Narcis Lovic and Christian Pilger (Mason) – Earth/Space, 3rd – 5th

    ·         Rennauda Collins, Jahara Porter and Kerrionna Williams (Froebel) – Zoology, 3rd – 5th

    ·         Miguel Carcia, Ashay Jefferson and Aretha Brown (Stevens) – Chemistry, 6th – 8th


    The 12th Annual SLPS Science Fair was sponsored by the St. Louis Science Center, PEARSON Scott Foresman, PEARSON Prentice Hall, Frey Scientific and COP Science.  SLPS Science Curriculum Supervisors Nancy Williams and Gwendolyn Randolph organized the event.


    # # #